Photo crop

Your Committee

The elected Committee for 2017/18 is:

President – Jane Locke
Vice President – Sue Daish
Secretary – Annette Bradshaw
Treasurer - Chrissy
MCS – Eileen Perry

Committee members
Hayley Barker, Kim Carss, Marion Craig, Sue Eyley, Avril Foley and Mo Williams

You can recognise members of the Committee at our monthly WI meetings
as we all wear a butterfly scarf


General enquiries:

Every member can contribute to the success of our WI, you do not have to be a member of the Committee to get involved. Numerous jobs need doing on a regular basis from setting up the Hall, tidying away, meeting and greeting, helping with baking, looking out for each other, lift sharing etc. Thank you to everyone who regularly helps out in the background.

President's Summary


I would like to start by thanking you the members and the committee for all the
encouragement & support you have given me this year. I want to particularly mention
Annette our secretary & Val our Treasurer for all the work they have completed to help
Whiteley WAGs run as smoothly as it does. Val is stepping down and I have a gift to thank
her for all she has done for us.
Also some flowers for Jan who is also stepping down but will continue to help with some of
our group events.
My report will look forward to the next year of Whiteley WAGs W.I. Our 7th year.
We now have 80 members and 11 nominations for the committee as allowed in our byelaw.
With so many WAGs it will be great to have a full committee to share the load.
The programme to the end of 2017 has already been organised so we can look forward to
evenings that are both enjoyable and informative including a bag evening, the story of the
trail of an Edwardian traveller in Kosovo & understanding dementia and how we can help.
What a brilliant variety of meetings for us to enjoy.
As a WI we are a kind bunch, look at the response to collecting things for the Basics bank &
our contributions to the Saving Denman appeal. We are already over halfway there and that
is before we add in this evening’s moneys from the bring & buy cake sale, Marion’s craft sale
& the coins from the Jerusalem vote. I’m hoping we will complete our £800 pledge before
our next Annual Meeting in which case we will be looking for a local charity to support.
2018 is a very special year for Hampshire Federation because it is our centenary so next year
there will be all sort of events for us to join in with including a festival in Eastleigh in May,
an arts Festival and many other things. You already have the pattern
to design our WAGs flag for the county bunting in our newsletter. As you heard in Val’s
report we are planning to give out 2 Denman bursaries of £250 to be spent in our Centenary
Year. You could pay for a 2 day course or add a little more for a 3 day course or split it with a
WAG friend to both attend a one day course. If you are interested in doing this you need to
put your names in a hat & we will pull out both names at our Birthday party in November.
Probably almost half of us have been to see Denman College and know what brilliant
courses they run. How great it would be to attend a course there whether it be cookery,
dancing, craft, crossword puzzles, literature, history or any of the hundreds of activities they
So all in all we have another fantastic year ahead of us which I hope you will join in with and
continue to make Whiteley WAGS the happy,enthusiastic, kind WI we are all members of.


You are viewing the text version of this site.

To view the full version please install the Adobe Flash Player and ensure your web browser has JavaScript enabled.

Need help? check the requirements page.

Get Flash Player